2013-01-08-151813First_American_Home_Warranty First American Home Warranty
Premium: $355
Deductible: $55
Effective: Upon payment receipt
Coverage Area: Nationwide (USA)

"I have a client who has not been able to move into her home for 3 months because First American Home Warranty would not replace the air conditioner. They sent out 2 ac companies who replaced several parts and even though it won\'t cool below 77 degrees they will not replace the unit. Now they won\'t even return our calls. I would never recommend First American Warranty to anyone. Beware-they will not replace anything that isn\'t completely broken, they patch it and even the ac technicians told us they won\'t replace it unless it won\'t work at all! - faye b, TX"

Customer Rating:


"Worst home warranty of all, period. If you are thinking to buy from this company, read all these reviews and believe it. If you already had this company as your warranty company, change it as soon as possible. You are depending on parachute that WILL NOT open when needs. This company just wants to take in the money with no intention to pay claim. Look at their website, they have email, phone number and fax for consumer to BUY their product but they don\'t have any phone number, email or fax for claim. Basically, all claim conducts via snail mail. They just hope that you can not wait and will repair without authorization so they don\'t have to pay claim. In addition, they deny claim citing preexisting condition even though we have several inspectors, contractors and visitors to proof otherwise. They offer arbitration on their policy but did not specify detail. We requested the detail of this more than 2 weeks ago but they ignore our request. My friend closes on her house in June 2014. She closes at First American title and First American title company sells her a First American Home Warranty. The closing agent says as long as we have an inspection to show that the unit is in working condition, it will cover. Policy says it will cover if the \"items are in safe working order at the start of coverage.\" The house has been inspected twice by 2 different professional inspectors; one by the sellers\' inspector and one by our inspector. Our inspector states that the A/C unit produces a supply of 54 degree air. Will a defective A/C system produce that kind of air? On top of that we have letters from visitors and contractors who work on house stating that the A/C was working when we moves in. About 3 weeks after we move in, the A/C does not working. Without any pertinent information such as whether or not A/C had been inspected, their A/C guy spends 10 minutes to reject the claim citing preexisting condition - leak at coil. He is more interesting in upselling the new A/C system to us at our expense rather than actually finding out what problem is. We wait almost a month for letter from First American Home Buyers Protection to officially deny the claim. The letter never comes so we contact them. That is when we find that they don\'t have any phone number, email or fax designated for claim process. We have to go in as if we were to buy a policy. The agent on phone asks us to send an inspection report. Deny because air leak, we argue that it is an air leak not a freon leak. Suggested resolution in the report is to seal the air with tape. 2nd deny because damage to insulation to refrigerant line. We argue that it is damage to insulation not to the line itself. 3rn deny, deny anyway with no specific reason other than preexisting condition. We already protest the decision and asking for arbitration but did not hear from them yet. That was more than 2 weeks ago. We already filed complaint with Texas Real Estate Commission who oversee warranty company. We are looking into filing complaint with California government agency and BBB also. We are looking into the possibility of any lawyer who will take the case as a class action on our behalf. If it does not work, we are to take them to small claim court under Deceptive Trade Practice Act in Texas which will allow us to be compensated 3 times the damage."

Customer Rating:


"The level of contractors vary. I had some issue with my Heater in February. My family had to live without heat downstairs in a 2 story home until the weather warmed up. The issue was never resolved and I am not able to get the fee refunded to me. I asked to have a different contractor and First American would not change contractors. I was forced to give the same contractor another shot to fix the issue and it was never resolved. Terrible customer service."

Customer Rating:


"First American Home Warranty is the worst warranty company. 1st they lied from the on set. I asked if the company had contractors in my area before signing up with them. They said that the did when in fact was mostly a lie. I have had to personally call contractors for plumbing/electrical/ac repair/ pool. When they offer outside reimbursement you have to come up with the upfront money first. why pay a monthly fee (just save the money each month in a savings account you would be better off) They fail to call you back when you do place a claim or they say that they did call you. Failed to send emails when assigning a contractor like they say they will and when you call (as of this morning) wait time was 2 hours. don\'t go with this company"

Customer Rating:


"We purchased our home in September 2013 and got a warranty as part of the transaction. This was set-up my our realtor. I believe the cost they listed was $400 with a $60 deductible. In April of this year we started having issue with the electric cook range. The burners would just stop working while you were in the middle of preparing a meal. I called First American to report the issue. Let me just net it out. We have now had SEVEN visits by three different appliance repair places and still not a working range and it is July 6. After the sixth call, First American told us they would replace the range and it was in purchasing to get us a new unit. Well next thing I know I get a call from the third repair place to make an appointment to take yet another look at it. Why, apparently when purchasing looked at a replacement, they found out this was a very expensive unit and now wanted yet another opinion. The guy came out and said the repair would be very expensive, but he would send the quote back to First American. I have not heard anything back yet. BTW, I also want to add that the second company dented the control panel. They admitted they caused the dent, then started backtracking. They never fixed that either. So now I have damage and a non-working stove/range and it has been going on for going on three months. So we have been unable to cook dinner unless we can grill or microwave it. Can you imagine what you would go through in the middle of Winter without heat because your furnace failed or the heat of summer without air conditioning if you had to rely on First American to repair a non-working unit? The time I wasted having to be home waiting for repair people to show up and the next repair guy in the door will be the EIGHT visit by the THIRD repair company. This is just awful customer service."

Customer Rating:


"Absolute WORST company EVER!!!! No customer service, won\'t give any assistance in allowing for quick response. The contractor can\'t be at my house for a week, without AC, 4 kids and they will not check with but 1 contractor!!!! The point system and spreading out the calls is more important to this company than taking care of their customers! DON\'T EVER USE THEM, RUN, RUN, RUN!!! Find a company who actually cares about their customers instead of just their contractors!!!!"

Customer Rating:


"complete scam, have tried them 3 times now, either the issue is not covered or if covered they will delay to fix the issue so much that you will end up getting it fixed by yourself, totally useless"

Customer Rating:


"My hotwater went out on May 4, 2014 ,and I promptly called first american home warranty. First American indicated that they would only pay for one TECHNICIAN to install a 65 gallon water heater( that was rectified). I was then told my water heater would arrive the next day May 6th, and the arrival date has changed every day since that time period . Ranging from 5/8/14 to 5/15/14. I\'ve had a representative call to ask, if I had recieved my hotwater heater. I was also told that I had to pay 132.00 for expediated shipping of my water heater, when that was promised to be free, and now I\'m told that it could not be expediated because of the size. I\'ve also been told that I have to pay an additional 350.00 out of pocket to install my hotwater heater, and I was told to read back over my platinum member contract( I hold a Masters degree in two different content areas). A representative even offered to email me a sample contract. I\'ve spoken to seven different representatives, and I\'ve received 7 different answers. There has been no resolution in sight for me and my two small children. 350.00 out of pocket expense, 75.00 deductible , 132.00 expediated shipping = 557.00."

Customer Rating:


"Everything is a hassle with First American. Called them first time for our A/C and they wouldn\'t cover it because it has multiple zones. Next time I called them for our microwave and they sent out a cheap and incompetent company to fix it. Upon arriving the technician asked us if we had a manual admitting that he had never worked on Kitchen Aid appliances before. Three months later, we still don\'t have a working microwave and First American sill won\'t send a certified Kitchen Aid technician to our home. PS - Thanksgiving is no fun without a microwave... couldn\'t reheat leftovers."

Customer Rating:


"I have had two properties insured by these guys and both times they\'ve shown they\'re greedy! they take your money and when they make a mistake, won\'t give it back until you give your first child\'s blood to them! I called and asked them to cancel the policy and documented who and when I had the conversation, two months later they\'re still charging me and not refunding the two months, even though I\'m providing time of the call and name of the rep I talked to. I told them to go back and listen to the recording of the call (since they always say they\'re recording the calls for quality), but no....nothing which leads to a refund would be acceptable....and i can\'t seem to get the name and title of the supervisor either....this is ridiculous....don\'t choose them..."

Customer Rating:


"They were very prompt with some service calls and their contractor's were good. On major calls involving heating and cooling systems they were quite slow. We were without heating for about a month in the winter. The service rep advised me to buy up to $150 in space heaters to use until they could get the new heater installed. I bought the personal space heaters, submitted my invoices but never got a refund. I am in turmoil about them because they did buy me a new heater but it just took so long. -Loren "

Customer Rating:


"I was with company for almost a year, and no problems till my last service call on 3-8-2012. Customer service was now in the Dominican Republic, and I waited 5 hrs for someone to get back to me. Finally I called again and they told me they could not find a contractor in my area. I live 20min from PA, 20min from NJ, 5 min from MD, and the whole state of DE and they couldn't find anyone. Get a company that stays in the U.S. -Bob B."

Customer Rating:


" Where do I begin? Back in October I called First American Warranty because I lost water pressure at my house and they sent a Plummer out to check my plumbing and well pump. By the time they came out everything was working, but he did check the entire system out including the well. Now it is Feb and the same problem occurs and when I called they said it was not covered because they don't cover well pumps. I was told this warranty did not cover the well pump. In Oct this issue was never discussed at all. I talked to rep from the company who was very polite and I said I wanted to speak to a supervisor so she switched me to him. Awful experience!!!! I told him the whole story and pretty much told me tough luck! I told him that I thought it would be best if I talked to someone else and he til me I needed to act like a grown adult! Keep in mind not one curse word came out of my mouth and I was not nasty at all. It blew me away that a supervisor would ever act like that. I requested they send someone out to look at it anyway just in case it was something that was covered. He said he would. I called Saturday morning at 10:45am and now it is 8:52am Aunday morning with no phone call from the vendor they are sending out. I called and they told me I had been downgraded to a non-emergency and they would get to me when they can! Just awful!!! -Tommy Kerns 23120"

Customer Rating:


"My jacuzzi was not working. The company charged me $50.00 for telling me that I needed to have someone else cut into the tile so they can come back to do the repair. At which time I'm sure that they will charge me another $50.00, because they charge a deductible for each call. A ripoff if you ask me."

Customer Rating:


"My air conditioner broke. First american called it a preexisting condition. I bought the house this year only so I faxed them house inspection where air conditioner was declared fine. they still are calling it as pre existing condition and not honoring the claim. I don't understand why would we keep warranty and then pay for repair work. This is very disappointing.."

Customer Rating:


"At first, I had to have a new garage door opener. Next, I had to have the springs replaced. Well, every since the replacement of the springs by First American Home Warranty's "chosen contractor”, my garage door consistently comes off track. I called First American Home Warrantty last week with this problem; I was told that my existing claim was still under the 30-day recall period; as a result, the contractor would be dispatched. Due to the New Year's Holiday approaching, I assumed that the chosen contractor was behind in work claims. Needless to say, I made a return call to First American for a follow-up. This time when I called, I was told that nothing was noted in reference to my calling last week and that the 30-day recall time frame had expired. Now, they want me to pay another $75 service call fee. "

Customer Rating:


"I really like this company. They seem competitively priced, they are much cheaper than AHS. The first year contract cost $400, the second year was $432. I got my money's worth. They company told me they paid over 2k for my claims the first year. I have used the company many times. My garage door opener broke, unfortunatly they would not pay for a full unit the first time so I got a new computer chip, it didn't fix the problem so I had to file a new claim 2 months later and pay another service fee to get the whole opener replaced. I needed my heat pump replaced in the dead of winter. The repair went very smoothly. The service people are always very friendly and quick to come out to my house. I had a bunch of leaky toilets that needed repair. Unfortunately the warranty company would not pay to get my sub-floor replaced but that was relatively inexpensive. The plumbers on this particular job had to come out a second time because the problem was not fixed the first time. There was no payment required though because they had messed up a connection. They were very kind and got the issue fixed. My basement flooded because my 3 sub-pumps were not working. A contractor came out and replaced/fixed all of the pumps without any issues. I have not had water in my basement since and I am very grateful. Whenever I call to speak with anyone at the warranty company the staff are very helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend this company. Although I had some trouble with the contractors, everything was fixed in the end and everyone was very polite and knowledgeable."

Customer Rating:


"I have been First American customer since 1998. Have experienced big change in service over the years, especially last 2-3. Tips 1- READ the contract. If it is not specifically covered in contract you are out of luck. Be sure to get the additional coverage if you need pool, garage, etc. 2- Fight back. Plumber gave them some bull story about my toilets and plumbing owner told them more bull. I took photos and called manufacturer of toilets who told me plumber did not know what they were talking about. First American paid. Other stories like this where I pushed back. 3- Take photos after their contractors complete work and be sure they are time stamped. Won fight with them about kitchen sink plumbing because they said was installed incorrectly and I had proof it was thier contractor who had done it wrong. 4-Some of their contractors are lazy and will either tell you it cannot be fixed or that it is fixed and then it fails again. Request a different contractor."

Customer Rating:


"THIS COMPANY DOES NOT FOLLOW UP ON CLAIMS PLACED.I AM ON THE PHONE WITH JOEY AS I TYPE. I TRIED TO PLACE 2 CLAIMS ONLY TO DISCOVER A CHARGE ON A PREVIOUS CLAIM HAD NOT BEEN PAID. THE CONTRACTER WHO CAME OUT AGREED TO BILL THE PROPERTY MANAGER AND APPARENTLY NEVER DID. IN HINDSIGHT I SUPPOSE HE DIDN'T SUBMIT THE CHARGE BECAUSE HE DIDN'T DO THE REPAIR. NO ONE SURVEYED ME ABOUT THE CONTRACTER. I WASN'T AWARE OF THE FINANCIAL PROBLEM. IT ACTUALLY TOOK APPROXIMATELY 2 MONTHS TO GET THAT CONTRACTER HERE (ACE SOLUTIONS). WHEN I CALLED TO SUBMIT THE LAST 2 CLAIMS, I SPECIFICALLY TOLD THEM NOT TO SEND ACE SOLUTIONS. I ALSO TOLD THEM THE APPLIANCES (FRIDGE AND DISHWASHER) WERE STILL HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM. THE 2ND CLAIM WAS FOR THE MASTER BATH AND ASKED FOR THE SAME PLUMBING COMPANY. APPARENTLY THE WARRANTY COMPANY SCHEDULED THE APPLIANCE REPAIR, WITHOUT ANYONE CHECKING TO SEE WHEN SOMEONE WOULD BE HERE. I CANCELLED, RE-SCHEDULED THE REPAIR, AND SEARS (REPAIR) KEPT CALLING, 2X OR MORE A DAY TO SET UP THE APPOINTMENT, AFTER I HAD ALREADY SCHEDULED IT! I DECIDED TO CANCEL IT UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE BECAUSE OF MY FRUSTRATION WITH YOU. MEANWHILE, I NEVER HEARD ANYTHING FROM THE PLUMBING CONTRACTOR, AND DECIDED TO CALL YOU TODAY. GUESS WHAT? PER JOEY, NO RECORD OF A PLUMBING CLAIM! SO I AM AT A LOSS AS TO WHAT KIND OF SERVICE IS PROVIDED BY THIS COMPANY. VERY DISSAPOINTED AND I INTEND TO NOTIFY THE SUBSCRIBER TO THIS SERVICE OF ALL THE ISSUES I HAVE HAD. NO...NEVER GOT ANY KIND OF SURVEY AND I GUESS I KNOW WHY."

Customer Rating:


"This company needs customer service that speaks better English so you may understand them. They should do more research into the companies that fix your home. Sadly I have had this warranty company now for 4 yrs and never had to use them until this year! Lucky me right? This year I have had to call them out 4 times! Once for a refrigerator problem that the technician didn't fix what he did do was mess up something else and the very next day I had to call and pay another $55 for something the technician did! Just this week I called them for a toilet leak and the company they sent didn't tighten down the toilet there is wax everywhere!! I've had to recall them again and hopefully this toilet that has been leaking since Sunday will finally be fixed on Thursday?? That's not acceptable. I will be looking for another home warranty company today!"

Customer Rating:


"On Monday May 13 first home warranty sent a technician out to our home to check the evaporator coil in the crawl space of our home. he said that the drain pan on the evaporator coil was cracked and leaking and we had a freon leak in the coil as well. the second tech came out on thursday 5/16 and said the the drain line was improperly installed. once this tech said that the claim was denied. we had another tech to come on on Saturday 5/18 to give us an ideal of what was trully going on. his explanation was that nothing had been installed incorrectly and the main drain was hooked to the primary he also said that when he removed the access panel he noticed where the pan was cracked was more than likely from a tech trying to remove the access panel. the panel has a precut hole in it that the drain line inserts into and if removed incorrectley it could be broken.we are still waiting to hear from the other person who was assigned our case. if they think we are going to give up and let this go they are making a mistake because we will continue to call, we will continue to send emails and post comments like this one to let everyone know that First home warranty is a not what they want us to believe they are when we are renewing our annual contract with them. they pay these sub contractors to say the unit is in wrong, just so they do not have to pay or repair the claim. how could our unit be in wrong, it first home warranty has been sending tech out to our home since 2009 for the same issue. they are more concern about numbers, and how long the rep stays on the phone with a client. lets ban together and get something done about the way we are being treated when we call in for a service call. Ernestine, High Point, NC 27265 "

Customer Rating:


": I have also seen a big change in the customer service. I have been a member for the last six years. At first, the contractors they were using were very efficient; however in the last couple of years, they seem to use the start-up companies, that don't always offer the best service. As of this writing I have decided to cancel my contract on both my homes. When I was charged $600.00, in addition to the service charge, to install a new water heater, I felt it was ridiculous, but I didn't have time to research the situation, so I went with that the additional charges were not covered.....Last winter, my a/c company found a hole in the heat exchanger while doing maintenance, but I had to let the warranty company send someone else out to fix it - a service charge. Then the contractor spent over a week trying to find out when they could get the part to fix my heater - long story short it took over six weeks. My garage wouldn't open, so they sent someone out, who "temporarily fixed it", then told me that it would cost me $400 to fix it, since the warranty company wouldn't cover it. I didn't use that person, because I couldn't find him listed anywhere. I got someone from Angie's list, who came recommended, paid $320.00, and was told that they should never "temporarily" fix a garage door - could hurt someone. I could have saved the $60.00....Then I have an a/c problem; they send someone out, who says they fix the problem. Not ten minutes later it is apparent that it is not fixed, so my tenant calls them back. They say they can't come back, and top of that they are rude. The problem goes unresolved for the weekend. I call First American, and they tell me it's a recall. I tell them that they were extremely rude to my tenant, and I would not have them go back out, so they send someone else. Almost two weeks later, my tenant calls me to find out if the company was sending someone else out. I find out the problem is not fixed because they said they didn't work on the outside unit that I needed! . It takes me several phone calls and over a week, while First American tries to get the report from the contractor saying that they can't fix the problem. During my last call to them, I am informed that it isn't covered. I call an A/C company that comes out the same day and fixes the problem. $500.00 and four weeks later, I could have saved myself the $60.00 and the time I spend chasing after them to follow up with the situation. Dacey, Raleigh, NC 27614"

Customer Rating: